Make & Freeze Chicken Recipe

Perfectly seasoned chicken in your slow cooker - freeze it in individual packs so you have it ready for easy meals.
4.94642857142857 star
  1. 1 star
  2. 2 star
  3. 3 star
  4. 4 star
  5. 5 star
(56)
  • Ready in: 7 hours, 10 minutes
  • Prep time: 10 minutes
  • Chill/Cook time: 7 hours
  • By:
  • Servings: Makes about 8 cups

print recipe

ingredients

cooking methods

  • Slow Cooker

directions

  1. In a 5-quart or larger slow cooker, combine all ingredients.
  2. Cook on LOW 5-7 hours or until internal temperature reaches a minimum of 165°F on an instant-read food thermometer and shreds easily.
  3. Chop or shred chicken; let cool. Place about 2 cups chicken into 4 (1-quart) freezer bags. Seal well, label and freeze.

Makes about 8 cups.

Serving Suggestion: Use prepared chicken for casseroles, stir in any of our sauces for a pulled-chicken sandwich, top salads, add taco seasoning for chicken tacos, the ideas are endless.

Electric Pressure Cooker Directions: Prepare step 1 in 6-quart or larger electric pressure cooker. Cook 15 minutes on pressure cooker setting. Let stand 10 minutes before releasing pressure. Continue with step 3. *Always follow manufacturers directions for proper use for your specific electric pressure cooker.

Tip: Strain juices and pour over chicken, if desired.

Nutrition per Serving: Calories: 140 Total Fat: 4g Sat. Fat: 1g Cholest: 95mg Sodium: 300mg Carbs: 0g Fiber: 0g Sugar: 0g Protein: 24g

have a delicious recipe to share?

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chicken Made Easy Make and freeze ahead shredded, cubed or whole chicken breasts. Easy, nutritious and cost effective. Life changing!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family can survive without me When you work outside the home, you need super fast dinners. I make up a crock pot of Magic Chicken and put it into the fridge. My family can easily make delicious dinners by using the Magic Chicken for a quick dinner using burrito shells, salad, tostada chops, whatever. The flavor of Magic Chicken is amazing. I always make a yummy pot of soup with the broth left after cooking the chicken. It’s a win win.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nutritious Meals At Your Fingertips I just joined Weight Watchers and skinless chicken breasts are 0 points! This recipe makes serving drinner and keeping me on track do easy! There is also a Magic Chicken Seasoning Blend where the Onion Onion, Garlic Garlic and Seasoned Salt are combined for you... Makes it even easier!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Simple I just love opening my freezer and am able to pull out a bag for dinner. The possibilities are endless! Most of the work is done (I cook mine in the slow cooker, shred in the slow cooker, bag from the slow cooker). Great in tacos, casseroles, stews, etc. The degree of spiciness is customizable to your liking. I use it at least weekly. Oh did i mention i do it with beef also?!?
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This chicken is Magical This is a big hit at my house and so many options to make new and exciting meals with. Once I introduce it to friends and family they definitely buying this product to create their own meals.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The GO TO food Magic chicken is the perfect food to have in your freezer at all times. You can make a quick delicious healthy meal for your family anytime!! We love it for lunch and dinner!! So easy to make and so helpful to have!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Changing Magic! We love Magic Chicken at our house! I've followed the bulk cooking option and freeze in two cup packages. It is so nice to have it in the freezer for any recipe that I'm making during the week. What a time saver!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love! This seasoning is perfect and so versatile! The Crock pot chicken with their seasoning turns out so moist and delicious!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy, but so versatile! I love this recipe. I make it often and use it for a meal starter for those busy nights. It's great out of the slow-cooker (or pressure cooker) for dinner too! The house smells amazing on Magic Chicken days!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love the "Magic" in this chicken!!!! I keep Magic Chicken on hand at all times!! I am eating more salads because I have chicken ready to add to the top. And, we have shortened many recipe times by 15 minutes because we have the chicken already cooked. Truly does make dinner prep just as quick as stopping for carryout and it's much cheaper!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chicken ever! What a time saver! Magic chicken has allowed me to have healthy options for dinner for my family on hand for our busy sport evenings when it is hard to cook a big meal!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You need it in your freezer and in your life! I have bags of Magic Chicken and Magic Taco Chicken in my freezer at all times! And, it's not just for chicken! You can use this recipe for any meat but also sprinkle on veggies and so much more! It's just MAGIC!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saving! We absolutely LOVE having Magic Chicken made up in the freezer. It is a life savor on those busy nights! So versatile, so many options, and SO delicious!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & delucious Love this chicken! Use in so many recipes! Thanks TS for adding magic into dinner time prep!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magic Chicken in Crockpot This is the first time I've made it and I guarantee it's going to be staple in my freezer from now on. It was simply amazing. Best of all it's so versatile that I doubt anyone could get tired of it. So many different ways to use in so many different dishes. We loved it.
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick weeknight meals! I have made this at least 4 times now. It is becoming a freezer staple! Our favorite meal is to do rice bowls with it and I use the taco seasoning while I am heating the chicken in a pan. My kids’ friends ask to eat over when they know we are making them because they think they are better than Chipotle! I have also done quesadillas, tacos, nachos, soups, pizzas & casseroles! The possibilities are endless with this amazing chicken! The only this we changed on the recipe is that I just use tenderloins because they are easier to shred and don’t get as dry as a breast. But we are not breast fans.
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from YIKES! I'm guessing this is called "magic" chicken because of the spices used. Too pricey for me, especially when you're using 4 T at a time!
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge timer saver! This saved me so much time...make a full crock on the weekend. And use it throughout the week for lunches and dinners on the go!
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it So simple and quick. Makes a great busy night easy when made ahead and frozen.
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a staple! Found out about this recipe a few months ago and I'm telling evwryone i know! Its soooo easy and the chicken is super tender. We always have this in the fridge- ready to make delicious meals!
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soooooo easy for quick dinners I never know what to cook and now I do. 1 crockpot full of chicken and 4 dinners later and many more ideas that my families love. Great for people on a budget!
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A weekly must have in our home. Not only is this amazing recipe easy for this hoppin' momma to make but it's now required for me to make it at least once a week. The family loves it and is always begging for more. It now also the dinner party go to dish for me. I love this recipe it is a HUGE time saver.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have recipe. My husband and Kids LOVE IT! Which is huge for me because they are all so picky. They hubby is always asking when I'm going to fix it again and begs for it. Not only do we just eat the chicken but you can use the chicken in a bunch of different recipes.
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Meal Prep I love making Magic Chicken to help me cut time for weeknight meals!
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and delicious This recipe was so easy to make. The chicken came out and literally fell apart, in a good way, and tasted amazing right out of the crockpot. We made quesadillas and the chicken was a great addition. I'm so excited to have a couple bags of this in my freezer for easy meals in the future.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REALLY IS MAGIC Cook once and have loads of perfectly seasoned chicken on hand ready for quick, delicious meals.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the versatility Where has this been all my life?! This recipe makes my life so much easier. We're going to eat chicken 3 times this week so why not cook it all at one time? Love the flavor and I can use it in so many recipes. Tacos tonight!
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Magic Chicken This Discovery will change dinner forever and allow us to have flexibility now and then.
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magically Easy! Loved how easy it is to make. Dump everything in the crockpot, cook, chop or shred, freeze. I'm ready for quick and easy healthy dinners.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whoa ohh ohh, it's Magic! I haven't bought a rotisserie chicken since I started making this!
Date published: 2017-03-25
  • y_2019, m_6, d_16, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_4694f8fb54e7458fa03714e24cc0524d, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tastefullysimple
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 109ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT